Why Me

The innocent guy asked God,
“Why me oh God, why must I suffer?
For mistakes I never committed,
Why is happiness never near?”

“People who are unholy are prospering,
The sinners are always rejoicing,
I can see nothing but darkness,
Can I ever attain true happiness?”

God listened patiently to the innocent guy,
And replied, “In true suffering lies true happiness,
When you rejoiced, you never asked why me,
I give you not what you want, but what you need.”

“Have faith, you will see light,
Keep working hard and be patient,
You have one thing the unholy don’t,
You have me, now please don’t ask why me.”

– S.R.

Leave a Reply

