Football is Freedom

“Football is freedom”, said Bob Marley,
Anyone who has kicked a ball will agree;
Football is meditation, a speaking tree,
Winning a game can make your day,
Losing one can break it.

I remember the day,
When I first kicked a football;
I felt I finally found something,
Which I can control, with one touch.

It was magical, how liberating it was,
Time flied, when all you did was play;
Now I have grown up, and I no more play,
I miss the magic, I miss the fun.

Playing in rains was so much fun,
Dribbling through a defender was not easy,
You could try in football, anything cheesy;
My best goal was a free kick,
Scored from my own half,
Seeing the keeper scramble,
I thought it was worth the gamble.

Audacity is many times mocked,
What is creativity without nonchalance;
Effortlessness comes from practise,
That deceptively simple, exquisite touch you appreciate,
Took years of toil and determination to perfect.

“Football is freedom”, said Bob Marley,
Anyone who has kicked a ball will agree.

– S.R.

Leave a Reply

